Top Five Saddest Disney Moments

Now, as most people are, I’m a huge fan of Disney. Like most people, I’ve shed my fair share of tears when I’ve watched Disney films and I thought I would share the saddest moments with you. For this I will be focusing on animated movies and won’t be including Pixar, otherwise the majority would be Pixar. So, without further or do here are my saddest Disney moments.

5. Big Hero Six- “Tadashi Is Here”

tumblr_opovvbFeIU1trmftyo1_400.gif

Big Hero Six was one of the best films that Disney have made in their recent years. Yes, it is far superior to Frozen. I love the superhero mix with animation, and while there are other moments in the film that make me sad, this was the one that got me the most. I loved Tadashi and his death was a real shock to me, and I thought maybe he’s still alive! Maybe he’s the man in the mask. But, this moment was just so emotional to me, seeing his videos that he had recorded and watching Hiro, with a little message of Tadashi will always be there, even if you can’t actually see him physically. Broke my heart.

4. Dumbo- Baby Mine

anigif_original-grid-image-563-1493834216-8.gif

Dumbo is full of sad moments. From Mrs Jumbo not getting her baby when everyone else does, to the other elephants bullying Dumbo for his big ears. The saddest moment of the film though is the song Baby Mine. It’s a real bond between mother and son, and what makes it even more sad is the fact that the closest Dumbo can get to his mother is her trunk rocking him. It just caves in all of the feelings that Dumbo being separated from his mother provoked and makes me bawl every time.

3. Lilo and Stitch- Aloha Oe, and Stitch Leaves

tumblr_n1hpjjcfSY1ttcey4o1_500.gif

The older I’ve gotten, the sadder this scene is. When you’re younger, you just watch it and think nothing of it but, as you get older and you understand that this might be the last moment these sisters spend together, it really tugs at the heart strings. It has such raw emotion, and the song is so perfect for these two. When you add in Stitch leaving just after and Lilo’s line of “If you want to go you can. I’ll remember you though. I remember everyone that leaves,” it just makes everything so much sadder and worse.

2. The Lion King- Mufasa’s Death

giphyd.gif

The Lion King is my favourite Disney movie. It’s fun, the soundtrack is amazing and the voice acting is some of the best I’ve seen. It just attacks you with heartbreak when Mufasa dies. Simba’s reaction is heartbreaking and the music just makes it even more tearjerking. I know that I cry every time that I see it and will cry every time I see it in the future. It’ll be interesting to see how they do it in the new film coming out soon.

Honourable Mentions that only just missed the list

The moments that didn’t make the list but, still make me cry or upset whenever I watch them. It was very difficult making this list and I think that these moments are still just as sad at the other’s mentioned, but I only had five to talk about.


Bambi’s Mother’s Death (Bambi)
Tadashi’s Death (Big Hero Six)
Beast’s Death (Beauty and the Beast)
Kerchack’s Death (Tarzan)
Pound Scene (Lady and the Tramp)
Wherever You Are (Winnie The Pooh’s Most Grand Adventure)
Once Upon A Time in New York City (Oliver and Company)
Baymax’s Sacrifice (Big Hero Six)
Meg’s Death (Hercules)
Ray’s Death (The Princess and the Frog)
Gurgi’s Sacrifice (The Black Cauldron)

1. The Fox and the Hound- Goodbye May Seem Forever

tumblr_o5wpvfv0nI1qb0i4vo1_250.gif

I can’t even watch this film. I cry far too much at this scene and can’t get through all of it. I have seen the film in its entirety but, normally I can’t get further than this scene. The song just breaks my heart, and the way that Tod reacts when he is sent away to just be in a forest alone. We all know that it is for the best but, it’s still heartbreaking because he has no idea what’s going on.

 

Of course there are a few more that I do deem as sad, but I didn’t want to overload the honourable mentions with everything but, Brother Bear has been known to make me cry. Let me know your saddest Disney moments in the comments

Leave a comment